The Republic of Iceland (Icelandic: Lyðveldi Islands, English: the Republic of Iceland), short for Iceland, the capital Reykjavik, is located in the middle of the North Atlantic Ocean, near the Arctic Circle, is the second largest island in Europe. The total area is 103,000 square kilometers, and the coastline is about 4,970 kilometers. Iceland’s 11.6% area is covered by glaciers, and three-quarters of the land is 400 to 800 meters above sea level, which is a cold temperate maritime climate. The country is divided into 21 municipalities and 203 constituencies. As of January 2022, Iceland has a total population of 376,000.